Friday, August 10, 2012

Join The Great Bee Count This Saturday!

For all of you who ever thought about beekeeping...

For all of you who wished you could...

For all of you who are newbie apiculturists...

For all of you who love bees and want to seem them flourish...



This Saturday is The Great Bee Count of 2012! Produced by "Your Garden Show", this free online video broadcast includes a Q&A session followed by a series of interviews with bee experts.



When should you tune in?

7 am - 10 am US Pacific

8 am - 11 am US Mountain

9 am - 12 pm US Central

10 am - 1 pm US Eastern

2 pm - 5 pm GMT

4 pm - 7 pm Italy


And... The Great Bee Count contributes to the Great Sunflower Project, a national bee census. More than 100,000 people have committed to spending 15 minutes in their backyard and gardens counting bees!



If you would like to participate in the count next year, take a few minutes to read over the requirements which include planting a specific sunflower variety that produces a good amount of both pollen and nectar. That way you'll be familiar with what to expect next time. Then you can record your findings in two 15 minute segments on a sheet like the one below and report in on the Bee-o-Meter!



Link Up Your Bees!

In celebration of The Great Bee Count, I'm inviting everyone back to Homestead Revival on Saturday For a BEE PARTY Blog Hop! Take a photo of your hive and upload it on my blog's Linky. If you don't have a hive of your own, just snap a great shot of a bee visting your garden. After all, you're helping out our bee friends by offering pollen and nectar!

I can't wait to see all your bees!

Viva le api!


LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails